EU technical assistance instrument to help 9 Member States hosting refugees from Ukraine


The European Commission has announced that it will provide technical expertise to help Member States welcome people fleeing the war in Ukraine.

In a statement issued today, 17 May, the Commission also underlined that Member States such as Belgium, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, France, Greece, Italy, Poland, Romania and Slovakia , who have applied for assistance, will receive it in the coming months, reports

In this regard, Commissioner for Cohesion and Reforms, Elisa Ferreira, said that the war in Ukraine had caused a major humanitarian crisis and that the European Commission should help those fleeing Ukraine and seeking safety in EU.

“That means giving them access to housing, education, health care and employment. With the Technical Assistance Instrument, the European Commission is helping Member States to ensure that this happens quickly and smoothly,” she also added.

According to the Commission, technical expertise is provided under the Technical Assistance Instrument (TSI), also managed by the Commission, which will help Member States to absorb EU funding for accession purposes and integration.

“In addition to helping them implement the Temporary Protection Directive; facilitate the recognition of qualifications and diplomas of Ukrainian refugees in order to facilitate their entry into the EU labor market; adapt their curricula to the needs of Ukrainian pupils; and improve inter-ministerial coordination”, read the statement.

Due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine at the end of February, on 21 March 2022, the Commission made a specific call to support Member States hosting refugees from Ukraine and the progressive abolition of their dependence on fossil fuels by the Russia. Applications submitted to Member States have now been assessed and approved by the Commission.

Countries supported by the Commission under STI 2022 include Croatia, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands and Portugal under large projects supporting the integration of third-country nationals in EU Member States.

In addition, these projects also improve the capacity of national administrations to provide comprehensive and efficient integration services and contribute to retaining talent and facilitating access to the labor market for third-country nationals.

The Commission explains that the support of the IAC complements the work of EU agencies and, in particular, the European Asylum Agency (EUAA), which is active in Malta, Italy, Greece, Spain, Cyprus, Romania, Belgium, Latvia and Lithuania and soon in the Czech Republic and the Netherlands.

On April 28, the European Commission revealed that it had paid around 3.5 billion euros in advances to member states to help them manage the arrival of refugees from Ukraine. He also said the payments were made as part of the EU’s cohesion action for refugees in Europe.

>> Timeline of Ukrainian refugees reaching EU countries amid Russian invasion


Comments are closed.